Wednesday Jan. 23, 2019 3:00 PM
Image

Ruth Meltzer Seminar

Bridges and Door Knockers: Iraqi Jewish Women Write Home

Nancy E. Berg

For fellows, Penn faculty, and invited guests only

Sunday Jan. 27, 2019 4:00 PM
Image

Public Program

Family Papers: A Sephardi Journey through the Twentieth Century

Sarah Abrevaya Stein

Open to the public, RSVP required

Wednesday Jan. 30, 2019 3:00 PM
Image

Ruth Meltzer Seminar

The Role of Ethnic Humor in Yemen's Coffee Era

Mark Wagner

For fellows, Penn faculty, and invited guests only

Wednesday Feb. 6, 2019 3:00 PM
Image

Ruth Meltzer Seminar

Synagogues and Jewish Life in Modern Cairo: Past and Present

Yoram Meital

For fellows, Penn faculty, and invited guests only

Wednesday Feb. 13, 2019 3:00 PM
Image

Ruth Meltzer Seminar

"Dhimma Space" and Beyond: Conceptualizing the Relationships between Jews and Muslims

Kerstin Hünefeld

For fellows, Penn faculty, and invited guests only

Wednesday Feb. 20, 2019 3:00 PM
image

Ruth Meltzer Seminar

The Marketplace of Marriage in the Late Ottoman Sephardi World

Dina Danon

For fellows, Penn faculty, and invited guests only

Wednesday Feb. 27, 2019 3:00 PM
Image

Ruth Meltzer Seminar

A Spark of King David: Rabbi Israel Najara, Past and Present

Edwin Seroussi

For fellows, Penn faculty, and invited guests only

Monday Mar. 11, 2019 6:30 PM
Image

Public Program

The Jews of Islamic Lands, Pt. 1

Alan Verskin

Open to the public, RSVP required

Wednesday Mar. 13, 2019 3:00 PM
image

Ruth Meltzer Seminar

Between Concealed and Revealed: Sabbatian Literatures as a Case Study of Ottoman Modernity

Hadar Feldman Samet

For fellows, Penn faculty, and invited guests only

Sunday Mar. 17, 2019 2:00 PM
Image

Public Program

Jews and Sufis: Shared Musical Traditions

Edwin Seroussi

DÜNYA Ensemble

Open to the public